Control notification emails from github

Github, by default, notifies each of the team members of the activities in the repository. This is not desired when you are not active in that repository. To escape from unnecessary emails, github allows one to change “notification settings” for the repository.

By default notification is set to Watching. In all cases you pretty much want to switch to Not watching if you are not active in that repository.

unwatching

When you switch to “Not Watching” then you are notified of email, only when someone pings you by using ‘@’ or when an issue is assigned to you.